9 days to go for IPL 2021: Interesting stats related to the number in the Indian Premier League

KKR won 9 consecutive games during IPL 2014, which is the most for any team in a single IPL season.

Sudharshan SridharanAuthor

Updated - 18 September 2021 01:16 PM


As the number of days to go for IPL 2021 comes below a double digit number - 9, the excitement and intensity among the fans is expected to grow higher. With just 9 more days to go for the resumption of IPL 2021, let us have a look at some of the interesting stats related to number 9 from the Indian Premier League.

9 - Number of matches won by KL Rahul as captain in IPL is 9.

As captain, KL Rahul has managed to win only 6 out of 14 IPL games in UAE venue. During 2020 IPL, PBKS initially had won just 1 out of 7 games and in 2nd half of the 2020 season, they won remaining 5 out of their 7 games. PBKS have been placed at 6th position (after playing 8 matches) in the 2021 IPL Points table so far.

9 - Devdutt Padikkal has smashed 9 sixes in IPL 2021 so far.

The young dynamic opening batsman smashed most runs in IPL 2020 for RCB team. In the 1st phase of IPL 2021 season, he smashed his maiden IPL century as well.

9 - KKR won 9 consecutive games in IPL 2014, which is most for a team in a single IPL season.

KKR, winning 9 games consecutively in the 2014 season continued till the Final game of the season which ensured they won their 2nd title in the IPL after 2012.

KKR 9 match winning streak in IPL 2014

7th May - Defeated DC by 8 wickets in Delhi
11th May - Defeated PBKS by 9 wickets in Cuttack
14th May - Defeated MI by 6 wickets in Cuttack
18th May - Defeated SRH by 7 wickets in Hyderabad
20th May - Defeated CSK by 8 wickets in Kolkata
22nd May - Defeated RCB by 30 runs in Kolkata
24th May - Defeated SRH by 4 wickets in Kolkata
28th May - Defeated PBKS by 28 runs in Kolkata (Qualifier-1)
1st June - Defeated PBKS by 3 wickets in Bengaluru (Finals)

9 - Glenn Maxwell, Sanju Samson & Ishan Kishan have smashed 9 sixes in an innings which is most for any player when IPL happened in UAE.

Glenn Maxwell smashed 9 sixes in PBKS vs SRH match in IPL 2014, which happened at  the Sharjah Venue. Sanju Samson also smashed 9 sixes in the same Sharjah Venue during RR vs CSK match in IPL 2020. Ishan Kishan also smashed 9 sixes in the MI vs RCB match in IPL 2020 at the Dubai Ground.


Join our Family Today!