Trending News

A good cricketer isn’t necessarily a good captain: Virat Kohli’s coach not convinced on Jadeja’s appointment as captain

Just two days ahead of the start of IPL 2022, MS Dhoni stepped down as the CSK skipper, naming Jadeja the next to lead.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Published on - 26 March 2022 2:00 pm

While a section of the fans is excited about what Ravindra Jadeja will bring to the table as the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, Virat Kohli’s childhood coach and a former Delhi cricketer Rajkumar Sharma is not too sure about his candidature as the captain. Sharma believes that it is not necessary that Jadeja will be able to replicate his success as an all-rounder as the captain of the side.

Kohli’s childhood coach’s remark comes after it was announced that Jadeja will take over the captaincy baton from MS Dhoni- the legendary skipper who has guided the Men in Yellow to four IPL titles.

“Ravindra Jadeja is no doubt a leading all-rounder in the world. But since he hasn’t captained much and doesn’t have that much experience, then it would be something to look out for. Sometimes a good cricketer isn’t necessarily a good captain and vice versa,” Sharma said while speaking on the YouTube podcast ‘Khelneeti’.

“He has been playing international cricket for a long time so he might have an idea about how to manage the team. MS Dhoni will also guide him from time to time. As far as Shreyas Iyer is concerned, he was brilliant for Delhi as a captain. But it will be interesting to see how he gets the best out of his new team,” he added.

CSK will play the tournament opener against Kolkata Knight Riders on March 26 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai which means fans won’t have to wait for long to see how Jaddu goes about his leadership business.

Chennai Super Kings full squad for IPL 2022: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (c), Shivam Dube, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, N Jagadeesan, Hari Nishaanth, Subhranshu Senapati, Mukesh Choudhary, Simarjeet Singh, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Bhagath Varma, Prashant Solanki, Chris Jordan, Dwaine Pretorius, Devon Conway, Adam Milne, Mitchell Santner.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60