Trending News

Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier: Oman to host qualifiers from August 20, winner to join India and Pakistan in Group A

The teams are divided into two groups. India & Pakistan are in Group A, whereas Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan are in Group B of Asia Cup.

Aakash Srivastava Author

Updated - 3 August 2022 1:57 pm

Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier

Men’s Asia Cup 2022 is all set to take place in the United Arab of Emirates from 27 August to 11 September 2022. Although, the tournament is taking place in the UAE, Sri Lanka Cricket is the official host of the T20 tournament. Originally scheduled to be held in September 2020, the tournament was postponed in July 2020 and then again saw further extension of the dates as it was later scheduled to June 2021.

With the final schedule out, the tournament will held before the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia. While the teams like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan are fixed to feature in the tournament, winner of the qualifier event which is set to take place in Oman between 20-26 August 20 will join India and Pakistan in Group stage.

The qualifier clash will feature men’s team from United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Hong Kong and Kuwait competing for the lone qualification spot in the main draw.

Notably, Singapore and Hong Kong qualified from the ACC Easter Region T20I tournament held in Thailand in March 2020, while United Arab Emirates and Kuwait qualified from the ACC Western Region T20I tournament held in UAE in February 2020.

The Asia Cup 2022 is set to kickstart with Sri Lanka taking on Afghanistan on 27 August, but the highly-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan is scheduled for August 28, 2022.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story