Australia announce 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

Daniel Sams, all-rounder Daniel Christian and Nathan Ellis have been named as reserves.

Vaidehi SinghAuthor

Updated - 19 August 2021 10:21 AM


Cricket Australia has finally announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup slated to take place in UAE and Oman. After New Zealand, Australia becomes the second country to announce their squad for the upcoming mega tournament.

The team includes the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis and David Warner. A surprise entry in the squad was that of Josh Inglis. The right-handed wicketkeeper batsman has been consistent performer from last few years. He is the leading run-scorer in the T20 Blast and has played some brilliant knocks in the ongoing Men’s Hundred tournament for London Spirit.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future,” selection chair George Bailey said.

Other than Inglis, the team boosts of Matthew Wade as a wicketkeeping option. Australia limited overs skipper Aaron Finch also finds a name in the list despite being doubtful participant in the tournament after aggravating injury. Josh Phillipe and Alex Carey have also failed to find a spot in the squad for the tournament.

However, Daniel Sams, all-rounder Daniel Christian and Nathan Ellis have been named as reserves.

Here is complete Australia squad for World Cup 2021:

Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Also Read: Australia T20 WC 2021 Schedule | When are Australias matches in World Cup 2021?

Australia will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on October 23 against South Africa in Abu Dhabi.


Join our Family Today!