Australia to play five T20Is against Bangladesh in Dhaka; series to start from August 3

Australia is currently in the Caribbean, playing three-match ODI series after losing 1-4 to the Windies in the T20Is series.

Vaidehi SinghAuthor

Updated - 22 July 2021 01:26 PM


Australia is all set to tour Bangladesh after their recent series loss to West Indies. The Australian squad have received a boost ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup after the confirmation of the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh. The Men in Yellow will travel to Dhaka after the completion of the ODI series against the West Indies.

Australia to play five T20Is in Dhaka in August

The Australian board confirmed the much-awaited tour of Bangladesh today. Notably, Australia will tour Bangladesh for the first time since 2017. The Aaron Finch-led side will play five T20Is in seven days, starting from August 3. The side is likely to travel with the unchanged 20-member squad, which is currently in the Caribbean. The series will be played between August 3 to 9.

BCB CEO Nizam Uddin Chowdhury said: "The BCB and Cricket Australia have worked tirelessly together for confirming the itinerary. Naturally, this was a challenge due to the COVID-19 pandemic as ensuring health safety and security is a priority prerequisite for holding any cricket series in these times. I am pleased to say that a comprehensive biosecurity plan is in place and will be implemented during the tour for the protection of players and staff of the two teams and the match officials.”

"We are really looking forward to an exciting and enjoyable contest between Bangladesh and Australia as both teams play an attacking brand of cricket and have players suited to this format."

Check out the tentative schedule of Australian tour of Bangladesh

1st T20I - August 3

2nd T20I - August 4

3rd T20I - August 6

4th T20I - August 7

5th T20I - August 9

Squad for Qantas Tour of Bangladesh 2021

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade (vc), Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha.

Bangladesh squad: TBC


Join our Family Today!