Trending News

Australian Grand Prix 2022: All you need to know – Schedule, track & more

Reigning F1 champion Max Verstappen will start at P1 after winning the Saudi Arabian GP.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 5 April 2022 2:20 pm

After a two-week hiatus, Formula One returns to Australia at the Albert Park. The upper echelon of motorsports returns Down Under for the first time in two years because of the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2020, the race weekend was postponed and eventually cancelled shortly before the opening practice session. 

In the last Australian Grand Prix, Finish driver Valtteri Bottas won the race for Mercedes with a time clocking 1:25:27.325. Behind Bottas was his teammate Lewis Hamilton. Red Bull driver Max Verstappen came third but will enter this weekend as the winner of the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. 

When is the 2022 Australian Grand Prix?

Practice 1: Friday, April 8, 08:30 AM IST

Practice 2: Friday, April 8, 11:30 AM IST

Practice 3: Saturday, April 9, 08:30 AM IST

Qualifying: Saturday, April 9, 11:30 AM IST

Race: Sunday, April 10, 10:30 AM IST

What will be the weather like for the 2022 Australian Grand Prix?

Friday – April 8: 22°C, light cloud and a gentle breeze

Saturday – April 9: 26°C, sunny intervals and a gentle breeze

Sunday – April 10: 26°C, light cloud and a moderate breeze

What are the specifications of the track?

The Australian Grand Prix is a street type circuit with the race lasting for 58 laps. The length of the circuit is  5.303 km and drivers will cover a distance of 307.574 km. German driver Michael Schumacher has the fastest lap on this track with a lap time of 1:24.125 (2004). For the first time in F1 history,  four DRS zones have been set up at the Australian Grand Prix as the Albert Park Circuit has undergone some key changes.

Who are the previous 10 winners of the Australian Grand Prix?

  • 2019 – Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
  • 2018 – Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
  • 2017 – Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
  • 2016 – Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
  • 2015 – Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
  • 2014 – Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
  • 2013 – Kimi Raikkonen, Lotus
  • 2012 – Jenson Button, McLaren
  • 2011 – Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull
  • 2010 – Jenson Button, McLaren

What are the tyre choices for the 2022 Australian Grand Prix?

Formula One’s official tyre supplier Pirelli has announced C2 as the Hard tyre, while the C3 will be the Medium and for the first time, there will be a gap in the compounds as the Soft tyre will be C5. This type of Soft tyre will be used for the first time during a race weekend after switching to the 18-inch tyres for 2022.

How does the F1 Championship table stand?

Drivers’ Championship

  • Charles Leclerc – 45 points
  • Carlos Sainz – 33 points
  • Max Verstappen – 25 points
  • George Russell – 22 points
  • Lewis Hamilton – 16 points

Constructors’ Championship

  • Ferrari – 78 points
  • Mercedes – 38 points
  • Red Bull – 37 points
  • Alpine – 16 points
  • Haas – 12 points


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60