Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

After it was revealed yesterday that remainder of IPL 2021 could well be conducted in September-October window, all the cricket lovers were absolutely thrilled to hear this news. The report had also stated that the tournament will be hosted in such a way that will ensure the availability of all overseas players as well. However, while most of the players will be available, it is very likely that the Australian cricketers might not return to play the rest of the tournament.

Australia have a busy schedule in 2021

The Men in Yellow have a very busy schedule going ahead this year. They will be travelling to West Indies in July for a limited-overs tour which will feature 5 T20Is and 3 ODIs. Post that, Australia are scheduled to travel to Bangladesh to play 5 T20Is in August. With most of the key players taking part in the series in a bid to prepare for the upcoming T20 World Cup, they might have to spend almost two months in bio-bubble.

Cricket Australia would want to keep their players fit and fresh for the mega-event starting in October. As Australia also have to play Ashes after the World Cup, they might ask their players to pull out of remainder of IPL 2021 and instead take rest in the month of September.

How many Australian players are part of IPL 2021?

The possible absence of Aussie players could have a huge impact on various franchises as there are many star players who are key members of their respective sides. While most of the Aussie players are expected to miss out, some players who are not part of national side could be available. It could include players like Ben Cutting, Dan Christian, Chris Lynn and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

The following Aussie players could be unavailable for the tournament:

Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders); Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson and Daniel Sams (Royal Challengers Bangalore); Steve Smith and Marcus Stoinis (Delhi Capitals); Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith and Moises Henrqiues (Punjab Kings); David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad); Andrew Tye (Rajasthan Royals); Jason Behrendorff (Chennai Super Kings).