Axar Patel equals Dilip Doshi's record of most wickets in debut Test series, R Ashwin registers 30th five-wicket haul

Virat Kohli-led Team India comprehensively defeated England by an innings and 25 runs in the fourth Test to clinch the series 3-1.

Sudharshan SridharanAuthor

Updated - 06 March 2021 05:59 PM


India defeated England in the four-match Test series by a margin of 3-1(4) after losing the first Test match. With this, England has lost the first-ever Test series in World Test Championship.

Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin's five-wicket haul helped India defeat the visitors by an innings margin. Axar Patel recorded just his 4th five-wicket haul from just first three Test matches, Ravichandran Ashwin registered his 30th five-wicket haul.

Here are some of the stats achieved by Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin in this Test series.

Most five-wicket haul in first three Test matches:

Rodney Hogg - 5
Axar Patel - 4*
Charlie Turner / Thomas Richardson / Vernon Philander - 4

Most five-wicket haul among current players:

Ravichandran Ashwin - 30*
James Anderson - 30
Shakib Al Hasan / Nathan Lyon / Stuart Broad - 18
Yasir Shah - 16

Most wickets in a debut Test series for an Indian:

Axar Patel - 27 vs Eng in 2021*
Dilip Doshi - 27 vs Aus in 1979
Shivlal Yadav - 24 vs Aus in 1979
Ravichandran Ashwin - 22 vs WI in 2011
S.Venkataraghavan - 21 vs NZ in 1965

Most wickets for an Indian player in a Test series:

BS Chandrasekhar - 35 vs Eng in 1972/73
Vinoo Mankad - 34 vs Eng in 1951/52
Subhash Gupte - 34 vs NZ in 1955
Ravichandran Ashwin - 32 vs Eng in 2021*
Kapil Dev -32 vs Pak in 1979/80
Harbhajan Singh - 32 vs Aus in 2001

Other milestones achieved :-

Cheteshwar Pujara has achieved an unique feat of becoming only the 3rd Indian player to win 50 Tests after Sachin Tendulkar (72) & Rahul Dravid (56).

For the 4th time India has won a Test series after losing the first Test in home ground.

Ind vs Eng in 1972/73
Ind vs Aus in 2001
Ind vs Aus in 2017
Ind vs Eng in 2021*

Virat Kohli has won 10 Test series as captain at home and has went past MS Dhoni's record of winning 9 Test series as captain in home soil.

Ravichandran Ashwin has won 8 man of the series awards, 3rd highest after Muralitharan (11), Jacques Kallis (9) and joint with Imran Khan, Richard Hadlee and Shane Warne who has won 8 man of the series awards


Join our Family Today!