Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan

Picture Credit: ICC

Pakistan convincingly defeated India by 10 wickets and won against their neighbors for the first time in World Cup (T20I/ODI). Shaheen Shah Afridi was brilliant with the ball in power-play, ended up with the bowling figures of 3/31 in the 4 overs. Despite the initial setback, India managed to post a total of 151/7 with the help of Virat Kohli's solid fifty run knock.

Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan ensured they chased down 152 comfortably. Both Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami looked off colour with the ball and gave away too many runs in their bowling quota. In the 1st innings along with Virat Kohli, only Rishabh Pant managed to get some good runs for India.

Numbers and Stats from Ind vs Pak game:

10 - Pakistan have defeated India by 10 wickets. This was 1st 10 wicket loss for India in T20Is and 1st 10 wicket win for Pakistan in the T20Is.

Teams winning by 10 wicket margin in T20 WC:

Australia against Sri Lanka in 2007
South Africa against Zimbabwe in 2012
Oman against PNG in 2021
Pakistan against India in 2021

226 - Virat Kohli has smashed 226 runs against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup history which is the most against that team.

Most runs against an opponent in T20 World Cup:

Chris Gayle - 274 vs Australia
Tilakaratne Dilshan - 238 vs West Indies
Mahela Jayawardene - 226 vs New Zealand
Virat Kohli - 226 vs Pakistan
Shakib Al Hasan - 220 vs Pakistan

152* - Babar Azam & Mohammad Rizwan's 152 run partnership is the highest opening partnership in the T20 World Cup history.

Highest opening partnership in T20 WC:

Babar Azam-Mohammad Rizwan : 152* vs, Ind, 2021
Chris Gayle-Devon Smith : 145 vs SA, 2007
Kamran Akmal-Salman Butt : 142 vs Ban, 2010

10 - Virat Kohli has 10 fifty-plus scores in T20 World Cup.

Most 50-plus scores in T20 World Cup:

Virat Kohli - 10
Chris Gayle - 9
Mahela Jayawardene - 7

68* - Babar Azam's 68* is the highest score by Pakistan captain in T20 World Cup.

Highest score by a captain in T20 World Cup:

Chris Gayle - 98(66) vs India, 2010
Chris Gayle - 88(50) vs Australia, 2009
Angelo Mathews - 73*(54) vs England, 2016
AB de Villiers - 69*(28) vs England, 2014
Babar Azam - 68*(52) vs India, 2021
Kumar Sangakkara - 68(49) vs West Indies, 2010

2 - Virat Kohli became the 1st captain to lose two matches against Pakistan in ICC Events (2017 CT & 2021 T20 WC). Babar Azam became 1st captain to win a World Cup (ODI/T20I) game against India.