Babar Azam surpasses Virat Kohli to become fastest to score 2000 T20I runs

The three-match T20I series is currently leveled 1-1, with Pakistan winning the first game and Zimbabwe taking the second game, registering history.

Vaidehi Singh Editor

Updated - 15 July 2021 2:35 pm

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam registered his name in the history books once again after surpassing Virat Kohli to become the fastest batsman to score 2000 T2oI runs. The Pakistan batter achieved the feat during the side's ongoing third and decider T20I against Zimbabwe. Taking on the field after winning the toss and inviting Zimbabwe to bowl first, Babar Azam made his 54th T20I appearance for Pakistan.

The 26-year-old reached the milestone of 2000 T20I runs on Sunday. Before the match, Azam needed only 17 runs to achieve the feat. Walking out to bat at the end of the fifth over of the Pakistan innings, the skipper achieved the mark in the 13th over, hitting Ryan Burl for a four off the second delivery.

Fastest 2000 in men’s T20I runs:

Babar Azam: 52 innings

Virat Kohli: 56 innings

Aaron Finch: 62 innings

Brendon McCullum: 66 innings

Martin Guptill: 68 innings

Match 11

Namibia vs Ireland

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat

Match 12

Sri Lanka vs Netherlands

22 October 2021 07:30 pm ist

Match 11

Namibia vs Ireland

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat