Match Details

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

Date: 21st January 2022

Time: 1:00 PM IST

Live Updates: SportsTiger App


After two years of pause, the Bangladesh Premier League (BBL) is finally back in action and set to commence from January 21 with the first game between Chattogram Challengers and Fortune Barishal. The last two seasons were not played due to the transmission of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Teams like Rajshahi Royals (winners of the last edition) and Rangpur Riders, are now not part of the tournament. BPL is to be played in the round-robin and playoffs format among the teams, with 34 league matches followed by four playoff matches. The Bangladesh Cricket Board has said that the tournament will be played behind closed doors due to the new Omicron variant.

Team's Squad:

Chattogram Challengers:

Nasum Ahmed, Benny Howell, Kennar Lewis, Will Jacks, Shoriful Islam, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Chadwick Walton, Rayad Emrit, Rezaur Raja, Sabbir Rahman, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Akbar Ali, Naeem Islam

Fortune Barishal:

Shakib Al Hasan, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Dhanush Gunathilaka, Chris Gayle, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Fazle Mahmud, Obed McCoy, Alzarri Joseph, Towhid Hridoy, Ziaur Rahman, Shafiqul Islam, Shykat Ali, Niroshan Dickwella, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Salman Hossain, Irfan Sukkur

Weather Report:

Probable Playing XIs

Chattogram Challengers:

Kennar Lewis, Chadwick Walton (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Will Jacks, Benny Howell, S Patwari, Afif Hossain, Mehdy Hasan Miraz (c), Nasum Ahmed, Rayad Emrit, Shoriful Islam

Fortune Barishal:

Irfan Sukkur, Nurul Hassan (wk), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy, Mehdy Hasan Rana, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan

Team's Analysis:

Chattogram Challengers-:

Mehdy Hasan-led side is studded with a great set of players who must make it to the fantasy team. Kennar Lewis has been playing in the T20 franchise for a long time and has earned a reputation as a big-hitter. In the CPL 2021, Lewis made 195 runs off 117 balls in the powerplays at a strike rate of 166.66. Also, Will Jacks scored 1299 runs in 64 T20 matches at an average of 24.50 and a strike rate of 154.82, should be playing as a finisher. Players like, Chadwick Walton, the wicket-keeper batsman and Rayad Emrit can be considered too while picking the fantasy team due to their incredible past performances.

Fortune Barishal-:

With players like Chris Gayle, Shakib Al Hasan and Dwayne Bravo team can do wonders in the tournament. Since 2012 Gayle has featured in six teams and now FBA would be his seventh team. He has scored 1482 runs in 42 matches in BPL at an average of 41.16 and a strike rate of 156.49, with five centuries and as many as half-centuries in the tournament. Gayle is the only batter to hit over 100 sixes in the tournament.

Shakib Al Hasan would be playing a T20 game for the first time since T20 World Cup 2021. He picked 11 wickets in six matches during the T20 WC at an average of 11.18, an economy of 5.59, and a strike rate of 12. With the bat, Shakib made 131 runs at a strike rate of 109.16.

Team 1:


Team 2:


Best 14:

Wicket-keepers: Chadwick Walton (VC), Nurul Hasan

Batsmen : Sabbir Rehman, Chris Gayle, Nazmul Hossain, Kennar Lewis

All-rounders: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Dwayne Bravo

Bowlers: Rayd Emrit, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

Disclaimer-: The fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are the personal opinion of the author. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.