Trending News

BCCI announce India squad for New Zealand T20I series; Rohit Sharma named captain

KL Rahul has been named as Rohit's deputy in the shortest format for these three fixtures.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 15 November 2021 2:31 pm

India Squad for New Zealand

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 16-member squad for India’s home T20Is series against New Zealand. Notably, the two teams have to compete in as many as 3 T20Is starting from November 17, 2021. The three matches will be played at Jaipur, Ranchi and Kolkata.

Along expected lines, Rohit Sharma has been named as the captain of the T20I squad, while Virat Kohli who had already announced his decision to step down as the leader of the T20I team before the T20 World Cup, has been rested from the three matches.

KL Rahul has been named as Rohit’s deputy in the shortest format for these three fixtures.

While the Indian team achieved undoubtedly great success under former T20I captain Virat Kohli and ex-head coach Ravi Shastri era in both red and white-ball cricket, they failed to bag a single ICC Trophy which would have been the icing on the cake. India’s last ICC trophy came back in 2013 when the Men in Blue clinched the Champions Trophy.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md. Siraj

Meanwhile, the India “A” squad for South Africa tour later in the year has also been announced.

Also Read: Dropping Dhawan- a no brainer or a right call?

India A Squad:

Priyank Panchal (c), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wk), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60