Trending News

BCCI announce squad for ODI series against South Africa; KL Rahul to lead

The ODIs will see Virat Kohli playing under the leadership of KL Rahul.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 31 December 2021 10:48 pm

India's ODI Squad for South Africa Series

New ODI captain Rohit Sharma will not be available for the ODI series against South Africa as he hasn’t recovered from injury yet. KL Rahul will lead the Men in Blue in the ODI series against the Proteas.

India are to play as many as three ODIs in the rainbow country with a match scheduled on January 19, January 21 and January 23. However, the ODIs are being proceeded by the Test matches. Earlier, Rohit was ruled out of the Test matches with an injury and his selection in ODIs was doubtful.

Former ODI skipper Virat Kohli is also part of the squad and will play under the leadership of KL Rahul in the 3-match ODI series. With KL being the captain, the responsibility of his deputy has been given to India’s premium bowler Jasprit Bumrah. It is the first time that the pacer has been appointed as the Vice-captain of the team.

Veteran Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has returned to the ODI squad and is likely to open with KL in the series. Washington Sundar, who was out of the Team India squad for a while due to injury, has returned to the squad.

Ravichandran Ashwin along with Yuzvendra Chahal has been included as a specialist spinner.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Shami, who produced a stellar performance in the first Test at Centurion, has been rested from the ODI series keeping his workload in mind.

ODI Squad: KL Rahul (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story