BCCI Secretary invites Differently Abled Cricket Council for IPL 2021 opening ceremony

The opening match will see Mumbai Indians go against Royal Challengers Bangalore on April 9 in Chennai.

Vivek KrishnanAuthor

Updated - 08 April 2021 11:45 PM


The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will get underway tomorrow (April 9) at the Chepauk in Chennai. Defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Talking about the big day, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and it's Secretary, Jay Shah have decided to make it even more special by inviting the Differently Abled Cricket Council (DCCI) for the opening ceremony.

Amidst the whole confusion due to the ongoing pandemic, there was always uncertainty on whether the cash-rich tournament would go ahead or not. However, with excellent application and dedication from the officials and local authorities, we will see a start tomorrow.

Who will be the part of the opening ceremony?

Attending the opening ceremony from (DCCI) will be-- Dr Mahantesh GK (President), Mr Sumit Jain (Vice President), Ravi Chauhan (Gen Secretary), Sqn Ldr Abhai Pratap Singh (Retd)(Jt Secy), and John David (Treasurer).

As reported by India Today, DCCI President Dr Mahantesh GK expressed his pleasure, "We are very thankful to Jay Shah for inviting us to attend the opening ceremony of the biggest T20 tournament in the world. From the very beginning, he has been very encouraging and has been promoting differently-abled cricket in the country."

The first 20 games of the IPL will be played in Mumbai and Chennai. Furthermore, it will be a closed event, without any fans.


Join our Family Today!