Picture Credit: BCCI

With the back-to-back limited-overs series, there was always a threat of injuries, and it has hit the Indian camp. Two members of the Men in Blue have been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka. After Deepak Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav has now also injured himself and thus will not take part in the three-match series.

According to a BCCI release, the right-handed batter has suffered a hairline fracture in his hand and thus remains unavailable for the three T20Is starting from Thursday. The release also reveals that Yadav injured himself while fielding in the third T20I at the Eden Gardens. It also confirmed the injury Deepak Chahar has sustained.

"Fast bowler Deepak Chahar and batter Suryakumar Yadav have been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka. Deepak sustained a right quadriceps injury during bowling while Suryakumar suffered a hairline fracture during a fielding attempt in the third and final T20I against the West Indies in Kolkata on Sunday. They will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injuries," wrote BCCI in its release.

No replacements for both players!

With two of its members injured, India's squad for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka has been reduced to 16 members. The BCCI is not interested in naming replacements for these two players as India has plenty of options to go with. With Jasprit Bumrah returning to the squad, the bowling attack has been strengthened while in batting India have good options in Rohit Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, and Venkatesh Iyer.

Also, getting a replacement player on board will mean giving the bio-security protocols which will keep the players unavailable for the first two games. And with the three matches being played within five days, it will make no sense.

India's T20 squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Avesh Khan.


1st T20I: 24 February. Lucknow

2nd T20I: 26 February, Dharamsala

3rd T20I: 27 February, Dharamsala