Cricket Association of Pondicherry (CAP) announces new T12 tournament; event set to begin on July 15

The tournament will feature 8 teams with the finals scheduled on July 31.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 13 July 2021 04:57 PM

2 (5)

Cricket Association of Pondicherry (CAP) has announced a new-format cricket league on Tuesday, which is certainly going to help the development of cricket in the union territory. Unlike the usual T20 and T10 formats, this tournament will be based on a T12 format i.e. 12 overs each for both sides. The competition is set to commence on July 15 with the finals on July 31.

The eight teams which will feature in the T12 tournament are as follows:

1. Avengers

2. Royals

3. Eagles

4. Smashers

5. Kings

6. Titans

7. Patriots

8. Warriors

Other key details about the event

The association has not yet revealed any other detail officially as of now. All the matches of the tournament are expected to be hosted by CAP Siechem Ground in Puducherry. However, as per the initial plan, the tournament was slated to have 59 matches. All eight teams were expected to play against each other twice in the league stages. The top four sides would then go on to play the semi-finals before the grand finale. It will be interesting to see if the association goes ahead with the same plan for the tournament or they decide to reduce the number of matches.


Join our Family Today!