Trending News

Cricket South Africa announce 15-member squad for upcoming Commonwealth Games 2022

Sune Luus will lead the squad in upcoming Commonwealth Games 2022 with Dan van Niekerk still recovering.

Aakash Srivastava Author

Published on - 15 July 2022 9:34 pm

Cricket South Africa has announced 15-member squad on Friday (July 15th) for the upcoming Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. In the absence of Dan van Niekerk, Sune Luus will lead the squad in the marquee tournament, while Mignon du Preez has made a return after being left out of the group that played against Ireland.

Apart from Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Sinalo Jafta and Masabata Klaas, who missed out T20I series against Ireland, they have been included in the squad for Commonwealth Games 2022. However, Tazmin Brits, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Andrie Steyn and wicket-keeper Delmi Tucker missed to make the cut in the squad. Masabata Klass, who will be making a return in the national set-up after an injury against England, will strengthen the pace-attack which already has bowlers like Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Tumi Sekhukhune and Nadine de Klerk.

South Africa have added one left-arm spinner in Nonkululeko Mlaba, who will be supported by Luus and Chloe Tryon and two wicket-keeping options in Trisha Chetty and Sinalo Jafta. While, Lizelle Lee’s surprise retirement has created an opportunity for Anneke Bosch to secure her position in the top-order.

Earlier, BCCI had announced the Indian women’s cricket team for the upcoming Commonwealth Games on Monday. Harmanpreet Kaur has been trusted to lead the 15-member squad during CWG 2022. Team India will also see the return of Sneh Rana, Harleen Deol, and wicket-keeper Taniya Bhatiya.

Notably, women’s cricket will make its debut at the CWG in Birmingham later this month. South Africa is grouped with New Zealand, England and Sri Lanka. Team India is named in the Group A alongside Australia, Barbados, and Pakistan.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story