Trending News

Cricketer booked for forging documents to get into Tripura U-19 team

He also got successful to an extent as his name featured in the under-19 contingent declared by the TCA on July 11.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Published on - 17 July 2022 8:58 pm

A cricketer has been booked by the Tripura police for allegedly forging documents to get into the Tripura U-19 team. The in-charge secretary of the Tripura Cricket Association (TCA) lodged the complaint after he found out the individual had already played for a club in West Bengal. It was also found out that the cricketer was a resident of Barrackpore in West Bengal.

The police said that they are probing into the matter and are trying to identify people who helped the cricketer move ahead with his plan. “We are probing the matter, and also trying to identify the people who helped him in getting the forged documents,” said Subrata Chakraborty, the officer-in-charge of West Agartala police station.

It is worth mentioning that the cricketer who is believed to be a resident of Barrackpore town in West Bengal’s North 24 Parganas district, allegedly forged documents such as a Permanent Resident of Tripura Certificate (PRTC) and Ration Card to play for Tripura.

He also got successful to an extent as his name featured in the under-19 contingent declared by the TCA on July 11. The cricketer’s name was recommended to the Tripura Cricket Association (TCA) for the U-19 trials by the Bishalgarh Cricket Association of Sepahijala district, the police confirmed. The individual had also played for the Paikpara Sporting Club in north Kolkata.

Notably, the Tripura Cricket Association selected a 17-member contingent from the Open Trial Preparatory Camp. These cricketers are supposed to report to the MBB Stadium in Agartala on 13 July. Mr. Goutam Shome has been named the head coach of the contingent while Subal Chowdhury, Anupam Dey, and Anup Kumar Das have been named his allies.

U-19 Contingent selected by TCA: Pritam Das, Subhankar Ghosh, Sayan Ghosh, Sibam Sarkar, Md. Saidul Haque, Subham Sarkar, Pritam Deb, Rahul Biswas, Samrat Bhattacharya, Karan Dey, Samrat Biswas, Kritsundar Paul, Saptarshi Biswas, Debtanu Paul, Farz Ahmed, Soumyajyoti Sinha, Anshul Raj


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story