CWI announces West Indies Men’s central contracts for 2021-2022 season; Gayle, Hetmyer miss out

Notably, the performances between April 1, 2020 to April 1, 2021 was considered before the announcement of the new contracts.

Saurabh GangulyAuthor

Updated - 05 May 2021 07:16 PM


In a recent development, Cricket West Indies (CWI) have confirmed the international retainer contracts for the West Indies Men's Cricket team for the 2021-2022 season. Overall, 18 players have received contracts for the upcoming cricketing year which runs from July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022. Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Akeal Hosein and Kyle Mayers have been awarded international retainer contracts for the first time. Meanwhile, newly appointed Test skipper Kraigg Brathwaite and Darren Bravo receive International contracts for red-ball and white-ball cricket, respectively.

Notably, T20 stars Chris Gayle and Shimron Hetmyer were excluded from the contract list.

18 players retained, a decrease of 4 players

"Contracts offered for the 2021-22 period sees 18 players being retained, a decrease of 4 from last year. Jason Holder is the only player to retain his all-format contract due to his strong Test and T20I performances during the evaluation period," West Indies men's team lead selector, Roger Harper, said in an official statement released by the board.

"There are several new players offered red-ball contracts earned by their strong performances during the last period. A number of players were not retained because they did not meet the minimum requirements," he added.

Happy for all the players who have been offered retainer contracts: CWI Director

Meanwhile, the board's Director of Cricket Jimmy Adams has expressed his happiness for the players who have been offered the retainer contracts.

"I am happy for all the players who have been offered retainer contracts for the upcoming period. Especially pleasing was the number of players who were awarded first-time contracts in recognition of their performances during the period under review. I know that the eleven players who have lost their International retainers will be striving and fighting hard to get back into the teams and earn their central contracts back next year," he said.

"These players, along with our T20 specialists, will ensure that we have genuine competition for places that will push everyone to attain higher standards of performance," he added.

Notably, the performances between April 1, 2020 to April 1, 2021 was considered before the new deal has been announced. Such an arrangement allows for all players to be appraised immediately after the evaluation period also giving a notice period before new contracts commence on July 1, 2021.

Here is the contract list:

All-Format Contracts: Jason Holder.

Red Ball Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kyle Mayers and Kemar Roach.

White Ball Contracts: Kieron Pollard, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, Nicholas Pooran and Hayden Walsh Jr


Join our Family Today!