Dasun Shanaka appointed as T20 and ODI captain of Sri Lanka for Indian series

Meanwhile, all rounder Dhananjaya De Silva has been named the vice-captain of the Sri Lankan team for the series.

Abhinav GoelAuthor

Updated - 08 July 2021 04:35 PM


All-rounder Dasun Shanaka has replaced wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera as Sri Lanka’s ODI and T20I captain for the upcoming India series, starting from 13th July in Colombo. According to reports in Sri Lankan media, Shanaka will continue as the captain of the Sri Lankan team until the T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, spin-bowling all rounder Dhananjaya de Silva has been named the vice-captain of the Sri Lankan team for the series.

Notably, Shanka has led Sri Lanka previously also. The 29-year old captained Sri Lanka to a 3-0 win in T20Is against Pakistan in 2019. He was also named the captain for the T20 series against West Indies earlier this year. But due to visa issues, Shanaka could not travel with the team on time. In Shanaka’s absence, Angelo Mathews took the charge.

Sri Lanka recently suffered a humiliating loss against England resulting in a series whitewash in both ODI and T20I series. The 3-0 defeat in ODIs handed Sri Lanka their sixth consecutive white-ball series loss. However, Dhananjaya de Silva and Shanaka both performed reasonably well on the England tour. Dhananjaya missed his maiden ODI century as he struck a brilliant 91 in the second One-day International against England.

The Men in Blue will play three ODIs and five T20Is against the neighbouring country. There will also be new individual in the leadership role for Team India as veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan will lead the young Indian team in Virat Kohli’s absence while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy.


Join our Family Today!