David Warner and Kane Williamson script history as Australia lift maiden T20 World Cup

Kane Williamson's 85 (48) is the joint-highest score in a T20 WC final game.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 15 November 2021 12:30 pm

Australia ended up defeating New Zealand convincingly by a margin of 8 wickets to win their first T20 WC title. After winning the toss, Aussies invited New Zealand to bat first and the Kiwis posted a challenging total of 172/4 with the help of Kane Williamson's gritty knock of 85 runs. Josh Hazlewood played a crucial role with the ball for Australian side as he ended up his spell with terrific figures of 3/16. Mitchell Starc was too expensive as he conceded 60 runs in his quota of 4 overs. While chasing 173 runs, Australia lost their skipper cheaply for just 5 runs. But after that, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh's partnership ensured a very convincing win for the Aussie side and their quest for the maiden trophy in T20 World Cup came to an end.

Numbers and Stats from T20 WC 2021 Final:

2 - David Warner became only the 2nd player after Kevin Pietersen to win both T20 WC trophy and MoS award in the same season.

3 - Kane Williamson became 3rd New Zealand player to smash 2000 runs in T20Is overall.

6 - Australia became 6th team to win T20 WC trophy after India, Pakistan, England, West Indies & Sri Lanka.

85 - Kane Williamson's 85(48) is joint-highest score in a T20 WC final game.

60 - Mitchell Starc ended up with bowling figures of 0/60 after 4 overs.

Most runs conceded by an Australian bowler in a T20I innings:

Andrew Tye - 64 runs vs NZ in Auckland, 2018
Mitchell Starc - 60 runs vs NZ in Dubai, 2021
Kane Richardson - 59 runs vs Eng in Birmingham, 2018

289 - David Warner holds the record for smashing most runs (289) by an Australian batsman in a single T20 WC edition. Also Kane Williamson has recorded most runs (216) by a New Zealand batsman in a single T20 WC edition.

Most runs for a particular team in a single T20 WC edition:

Virat Kohli (Ind) - 319 runs in 2014
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) - 317 runs in 2009
Babar Azam (Pak) - 303 runs in 2021
Tamim Iqbal (Ban) - 295 runs in 2016
David Warner (Aus) - 289 runs in 2021
Jos Buttler (Eng) - 269 runs in 2021
Jacques Kallis (SA) - 238 runs in 2009
Marlon Samuels (WI) - 230 runs in 2012
Kane Williamson (NZ) - 216 runs in 2021

13 - Both Adam Zampa and Trent Boult ended up picking exactly 13 wickets in T20 WC 2021.

Most wickets in a single T20 WC edition:

Wanindu Hasaranga - 16 in 2021
Ajantha Mendis - 15 in 2012
Dirk Nannes - 14 in 2010
Umar Gul - 13 in 2007
Umar Gul - 13 in 2009
Adam Zampa - 13 in 2021
Trent Boult - 13 in 2021