Trending News

Will David Warner play for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2022?

With the mega auction ahead of next year, Warner is almost certain of going under the hammer.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 15 October 2021 4:30 pm

David Warner IPL 2022 Team

Although the David Warner – SunRisers Hyderabad saga seems to have come to an end with the Australian opener himself hinting at an exit, perhaps the new chapter might open more wonderful opportunities for the southpaw. If Warner’s recent Instagram is anything to go by, Warner might even be interested in donning the Chennai Super Kings colours next year.

Although there is no official confirmation, Warner confirmed that he could not say no to a picture of himself in Chennai Super Kings colours ahead of the IPL 2021 final at the Dubai International Stadium on Friday. Here is what’s the matter. In an Instagram post, Warner disclosed that while he was not sure of which team to pick among the finalists – Kolkata Knight Riders or Chennai Super Kings – he could not say to a fan who asked Warner to post a picture of himself and his daughter in Chennai’s yellow.

Does that mean Warner is looking at a possibility of playing one of the most successful sides in tournament history? Who knows but if indeed Warner is picked by the Chennai franchise, he won’t be a bad pick at all.

Here is what Warner had posted:

The left-handed opening batter has been one of the greats of the tournament and has scored 5449 runs in the tournament in 150 matches, averaging 41.59 at a strike rate of almost 140. He has 4 hundreds and a record 50 half-centuries. Only in IPL 2021, his form had seemingly dipped a little which led to his unceremonious sacking at Hyderabad and later his expulsion from the Playing XI.

With the mega auction ahead of next year, Warner is almost certain of going under the hammer and attracting huge bids but whether it will be Chennai who will be interested in him or not is a different story.

Talking about the IPL 2021 final, both the finalists are former IPL champions. While Kolkata lifted the trophy in 2012 and 2014, Chennai have won it in 2010, 2011 and 2018. While CSK have made it a knack of reaching finals and will be making their ninth appearance in the finale of the tournament this year, they have also lost five in contrast to their three titles.

On the other hand, Kolkata’s IPL win in 2012 and 2014 are the only occasion when the team had made it to the final. Moreover, when KKR had won in 2012 they had defeated none other than CSK. All this points to an engrossing game of cricket later on Friday.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60