Avesh Khan


Delhi Capitals ended up winning a thriller against Mumbai Indians in last over of the game with the help of Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Ashwin's sensible partnership in the end. Rishabh Pant smacked 21 runs off 12 balls in power-play also helped DC to be on the front-foot initially despite losing key wickets. MI were invited to bat first by DC but all Mumbai could manage was 129 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

Delhi bowlers were too good for Mumbai as Axar Patel and Avesh Khan ended up picking 3 wickets each in their bowling quota. Axar Patel picked 3 crucial wickets of Mumbai batting line up (Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav and Saurabh Tiwary) and put them on back-foot during the 1st innings. His match winning spell of 3/21 and Avesh Khan's terrific spell ensured Mumbai never got going with the bat in 1st innings.

Numbers and stats from MI vs DC game:

21 - Avesh Khan has taken 21 wickets in IPL 2021 so far.

Most wickets for uncapped bowler in an IPL season:

Harshal Patel - 26 for RCB in 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal - 23 for RCB in 2015
Avesh Khan - 21 for DC in 2021
Sreenath Aravind - 21 for RCB in 2011
Siddarth Kaul - 21 for SRH in 2018

16 - Shikhar Dhawan got dismissed by run-out for 16th time in IPL which is the joint-most with Gautam Gambhir.

4 - Only for the 4th time Delhi has defeated MI in both IPL league matches. (This has happened in 2009, 2012, 2018 & now in 2021).

5 - For the 5th time Rohit Sharma smashed a boundary on the first ball of an IPL match.

Most times smashing boundary on the first ball in an IPL match:

Dwayne Smith - 6 times
Rohit Sharma - 5 times
Quinton de Kock - 5 times
David Warner - 5 times
Shikhar Dhawan / Virender Sehwag - 4 times

6 - Ravichandran Ashwin became 6th player to hit a winning six in IPL 2021 after Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni and Shahrukh Khan.

21 - Avesh Khan's 21 wickets are the most by an Indian bowler for Delhi Capitals team in an IPL season.

Most wickets for Delhi Capitals in an IPL season:

Kagiso Rabada - 30 in 2020
Kagiso Rabada - 25 in 2019
Morne Morkel - 25 in 2012
Anrich Nortje - 22 in 2020
Avesh Khan - 21 in 2021