Did You Know? All captains in IPL 2021 are wicketkeepers

After the appointments of Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant as IPL captains, there is an unknown commonality that the skippers of all eight franchises share with each other.
Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 1 April 2021 8:34 pm

One incredible common thing between all captains in IPL 2021

The 14th edition of Indian Premier League is just few days away and all the franchises have finally announced their captains for the upcoming season. While most of the sides have retained their original skippers, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals have appointed youngsters Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant, respectively, as their captains for IPL 2021.

With these announcements, we finally have the list of all the 8 captains who will lead their sides this season. However, a very surprising fact has come out which signifies a unique commonality that all the captains share with each other. Interestingly, all the leaders in IPL 2021 have donned the wicketkeeping gloves at some point in their career.

1. MS Dhoni

CSK skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is undoubtedly one of the greatest wicketkeepers of all time. The 39-year-old has inflicted 829 dismissals behind the stumps in his glittering international career. Thala is also the most successful gloveman in IPL history with 148 dismissals (109 catches and 39 stumpings) to his name, playing for Chennai Super Kings and Rising Pune Supergiant.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next »