Dinesh Karthik fined for breaching IPL Code of Conduct during KKR’s Qualifier 2 clash against DC

Rahul Tripathi's six on the penultimate ball of the match over long off boundary sealed a three-wicket win for KKR in the Qualifier 2 against DC on Wednesday.

SportsTiger Staff Administrator

Updated - 14 October 2021 4:17 pm

The Indian Premier League has finally reached it’s business end and we have the two finalists of this season in the form of Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders. While Chennai registered a 4-wicket win over Delhi in Qualifier 1 to make it to their ninth IPL final, Kolkata sealed a three wicket win on Wednesday with 1 ball to spare, courtesy of Rahul Tripathi’s six.

The two sides, who have proved themselves despite ups & down in tournament will fight for the silverware on October 15 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Why was Dinesh Karthik fined?

Even though it was the Kolkata Knight Riders who secured a thrilling win over the Delhi Capitals on Wednesday, October 13 - things didn’t go well for KKR wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Karthik.

With KKR placed at 125/3 in the 17th over during the run chase, Kagiso Rabada dismissed the 36-yeal-old on a duck, creating tension in the team’s dugout. Frustrated with his dismissal, Dinesh Karthik was caught dislodging the stumps which was found wrong in the eyes of the match officials.

Seeing this, Karthik was reprimanded for breaching Level 1 offence 2.2 of the IPL Code of Conduct. Notably, the Level 1 offence 2.2 relates to “Abuse of cricket equipment of clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during a match.”

“Karthik admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.2 of the IPL’s Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction. For Level 1 breaches of the Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding,” the official statement read.

Match 11

Namibia vs Ireland

Friday, 22 Oct | 03:30 PM

Match 12

Sri Lanka vs Netherlands

22 October 2021 07:30 pm ist

Match 11

Namibia vs Ireland

Friday, 22 Oct | 03:30 PM