Trending News

Djokovic to join Federer, Nadal and Murray in 2022 Laver Cup

The 2022 edition of the tournament is scheduled to take place from 23 September to 25 September. 

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 1 July 2022 11:11 am

Novak Djokovic

21-time Grand Slam winner Novak Djokovic is set to join Team Europe’s six-man squad for the upcoming Laver Cup along with other members of the Big Four in Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray. Earlier this Wednesday, Murray was announced as the third member of the six-man team along with Federer and Nadal. This news pushed fans to speculate about the possibility of seeing the top four players of this generation together. 

Addressing the situation, the Serbian talked about reaching an agreement with the Laver Cup authorities and talked about how the decision will be made after the All England Open. “It would be very unique. It is a possibility,” Djokovic told reporters after securing his place in the third round of the Championships. “My agent has communication with the Laver Cup team. We have an agreement that there will be a decision after Wimbledon is finished.”

Djokovic then talked about the lure of the tournament as it allows top players to come together and enjoy tennis. “Laver Cup is the only competition where you can have all the big rivals, the big three, big four players joining in the same team,” Djokovic said. ”Of course, it is very different and exciting concept for us players, but also for the fans around the world.”

He then continued, “The O2 Arena is familiar venue for me and for us players… I think the tradition here in Britain for tennis has contributed to a very successful event (ATP Finals) over the course of more than 10 years. So, of course, it would be a pleasure to play there again.”

The event is named after the Australian tennis great Rod Laver and the three-day team affair which pits six of Europe’s top players against six from the rest of the world. The 2022 edition of the tournament is scheduled to take place from 23 September to 25 September. 

The Team Europe will be led by Bjorn Borg, who has won all the previous editions. Team World will be led by American tennis star John McEnroe and has included Felix Auger-Aliassime, Taylor Fritz and Diego Schwartzman as the three members of his team.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story