Trending News

Durand Cup 2021: All you need to know – History, Date, Format and More

The tournament will kickstart from September 5 and will be played over a four-week period, with the final match on October 3.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 12 August 2021 2:05 pm

Durand Cup 2021

Asia’s oldest and world’s third oldest football tournament Durand Cup is all set to make a return for its 130th edition in September this year. With the dynamic support from the All India Football Federation (AIFF), IFA (West Bengal), and the Government of Bengal, the marquee event is making a comeback after a year’s delay due to COVID-19.

The 130th edition of the Durand Cup will take place in September-October this year at various venues in and around Kolkata. Sixteen teams from across the country will participate in this multifaceted tournament to fight for three prestigious trophies. The tournament was shifted from Delhi to Kolkata in 2019, which was won by Gokulam Kerala.

When will the tournament be played?

The tournament will kickstart from September 5 and will be played over a four-week period, with the final match on October 3.

Which teams are participating in this tournament?

Sixteen teams, including four teams from services, from across the country that play in different leagues will take part in this competition. The sixteen teams that took part in the 129th edition were:

Army Red

Gokulam Kerala FC

Chennai City FC

Mohun Bagan AC

Quess East Bengal FC

Indian Navy

Real Kashmir FC

Chennaiyin FC

Jamshedpur FC


Army Green


Bengaluru FC

Mohammedan FC

FC Goa

Indian Air Force

Where will the games be played?

All the games will be played at various venues in and around Kolkata. The 2019 edition was played across three venues of Howrah, Kalyani, and Kolkata. Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium), East Bengal Ground, Mohun Bagan Ground, Howrah Stadium, and the Kalyani Stadium were the grounds for the previous edition. It may remain the same for this year too.

What do the winners get?

Durand Cup is a unique tournament as there are three trophies given out to the winner. Durand Cup and Shimla Cup are the two rolling trophies presented to the winning team, which they keep for one year and return before the commencement of the next edition. The President Cup is the permanent trophy presented to the winning team.

Who are the previous winners?

The 129th edition was won by Gokulam Kerala FC where they had beaten Mohun Bagan AC. The 2016 edition was won by Army Green.

2014- Salgaocar FC

2013- Mohammedan Sporting Club

2012- Air India


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story