ECB announces 16-member squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

The squad includes the likes of Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Moeen Ali, Mark Wood amongst others.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 12 June 2021 07:18 PM

England Cricket

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Saturday announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka. England are set to play a three-match series against Sri Lanka, starting June 23 at Cardiff. Led by England captain Eoin Morgan, the squad features the return of many English players. Yorkshire seamer David Willey makes his return after 2019, whereas Warwickshire all-rounder Chris Woakes will return to the squad for the first time since 2015.

The squad includes the likes of Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Moeen Ali, Mark Wood amongst others. However, England’s key T20 players Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer didn’t make the cut owing to their fractured finger and elbow injuries, respectively. Additionally, Surrey’s Reece Topley was also ruled out last month due to side strain.

“I want our team to play an attacking form of the game,” says England coach

England’s head coach Chris Silverwood expressed that this summer is about building a perfect T20 team for England ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup scheduled later this year.

“With several high-profile players missing through injury, it allows me to look at some of our experienced players who have not featured at this level for some time. The likes of Chris Woakes and David Willey are very experienced cricketers, and to have them both in the mix is exciting and shows the depth of squad we have available,” Silverwood emphasized.

England Squad:

Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.


Join our Family Today!