Trending News

ENG vs IND 1st T20I Stats Review: Rohit Sharma creates new record in T20Is and much more

Hardik Pandya recorded his career best T20 bowling figure in this match.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 8 July 2022 3:27 pm


India defeated England by 50 runs with the help of powerful all-round performance from Hardik Pandya while Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar Yadav also impressed with their bat by scoring 33(17) and 39(19) respectively. England were never in this chase as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and thus even the decent knocks of Moeen Ali and Chris Jordan in the end couldn’t save the game for England. Rohit Sharma on his return as captain has achieved some phenomenal achievements and we will look at them in this article.

Numbers and stats from ENG vs IND 1st T20I:

4 – Arshdeep Singh became 4th Indian bowler (in Men’s Cricket) to bowl a maiden over on his T20I debut after Ajit Agarkar, Khaleel Ahmed and Navdeep Saini.

4/33 – Hardik Pandya recorded his career best bowling figure off 4/33 in T20 format.

5 – Arshdeep Singh became 5th Indian player to make his T20I debut in 2022 (among men cricketers).

11 – India won their 11th T20I game against England.

Most T20I matches won vs England (in men’s cricket):

West Indies – 14
India – 11
Australia / South Africa – 10

12 – Hardik Pandya became 12th player to smash fifty-plus and pick four-wicket haul in a T20I game.

All-rounders to smash fifty-plus score and pick 4 wickets in men’s T20I game (among Test playing nations):

Dwayne Bravo (2009)
Shane Watson (2011)
Mohd. Hafeez (2011)
Samiullah Shinwari (2012)
Hardik Pandya (2022)

Note:- In 2012, Afghanistan wasn’t a Test playing nation.

13 – Rohit Sharma became first player to win 13 matches consecutively as captain in T20Is.

Players to win most matches consecutively as captain in men’s T20I:

Rohit Sharma – 13 (2019-2022)
Asghar Afghan – 12 (2018-2020)
Ramesh Satheesan – 12 (2020-2021)

14 – Yuzvendra Chahal has taken 14 wickets against England in T20Is.

Most wickets vs England in men’s T20I:

Jason Holder – 17
Mitchell Santner – 16
Yuzvendra Chahal – 14
Lasith Malinga / Tim Southee / Hardik Pandya – 13

15 – Rohit Sharma after being appointed as full-time captain of India hasn’t lost a single international game so far. He has won 15 matches for India in international cricket after being appointed as full-time captain since Nov 2021.

29 – Rohit Sharma smashed 1000 T20I runs as captain from just 29 innings and went past Virat Kohli.

Fastest to smash 1000 runs in men’s T20I as captain (by innings):

Babar Azam – 26
Rohit Sharma – 29
Virat Kohli – 30
Faf du Plessis – 31
Aaron Finch – 32
Kane Williamson – 36
Eoin Morgan – 42
Asghar Afghan – 48
William Porterfield – 54
MS Dhoni – 57

50 – India have defeated England by 50 runs in the 1st T20I.

Biggest margin of win (by runs) vs England on England soil in men’s T20I:

India by 50 runs in Southampton, 2022
Australia by 39 runs in Southampton, 2013
Pakistan by 31 runs in Nottingham, 2021


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story