Untitled-3 (2)

Picture Credit: Twitter

England have announced their squad for the upcoming Men's T20 World Cup set to be staged across the United Arab Emirates and Oman. Ben Stokes has not been named in England's squad as he continues to take an indefinite break from cricket. Meanwhile, left-arm fast bowler Tymal Mills returns to the international squad for the first time since February 2017. The Sussex pacer was impressive in the Vitality T20 Blast and The Hundred, where he helped Southern Brave win inaugural edition. England's 2019 World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan will again lead the side.

"Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years - but particularly this summer - that he has all skills to succeed at this level," said England head coach Chris Silverwood.

"His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave's respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage. He will add variety to our bowling unit and we can't wait to see him play in a major international tournament," Silverwood added.

Notably, England have until 10th October to finalise their squad for the T20 WC and they have decided to make a decision on Stokes' involvement at the last minute.

The Three Lions are part of Group 1 in Super 12s and have been pooled alongside Australia, South Africa and West Indies. They will be joined by two more teams who will secure qualification after Round 1. Meanwhile, Group 2 has India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

The event is set to commence on Sunday, October 17, 2021, with the final scheduled on Sunday, November 14, 2021. "The Poms" have been a force to reckon with in limited-overs cricket in recent years and even clinched the most recent 50-overs World Cup in 2019. The Eoin Morgan-led team would now look to replicate their 2010 performance in the world event in the Middle East. England had famously beaten Australia in the finals of the 2010 World Cup to emerge as the champions and will enter this year's competition as one of the favorites.

Also Read: India squad for T20 World Cup 2021

England's T20 World Cup squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Travelling reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Here's the official announcement: