England announce 16-member squad for ODIs against Pakistan; Tom Banton retains his place

England will play three-match ODI series against Pakistan, starting from July 8.

Vaidehi Singh Editor

Updated - 4 July 2021 3:03 pm

The England Cricket Board have named their 16-man ODI squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan. The Eoin Morgan-led will play three ODIs, followed by three T20Is in the month of July. England is currently playing against Sri Lanka, however, they have won the series winning two out of the three ODIs.

Ben Stokes misses out, Tom Banton named in the squad

Notably, England all-rounder Ben Stokes will continue to miss the ODI series, despite getting game in T20 Blast. Also, it is being seen that Tom Banton, who has been called for the third and final ODI against Sri Lanka has retained his place in the 16-member squad. Banton was called in place of Dawid Malan, who pulled out due to personal reasons.

Jos Buttler will continue to miss the series as he is nursing an injury. Other than this, the side bolsters of players like Eoin Morgan, Sam Curran, who recently started taking a five-wicket haul in the second ODI against Sri Lanka.

The three-match ODI series between England & Pakistan will commence from July 8 at the Sophia Gardens, Cardiff. However, the second and third ODI will take place at the Lord's & Edgbaston on July 10 & July 13 respectively. The two sides will then play three-match T20I series, starting from July 16.

England ODI squad for Pakistan series: Eoin Morgan(c), Moeen Ali, Jonanthan Bairstow (WK), Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood