England vs India Test series: All you need to know – Schedule, Squad and More

India were forced to make changes to the original squad after Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Avesh Khan got ruled out due to injuries.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 31 July 2021 8:58 pm

India and England are all set to lock horns for a five-match Test series starting August 4. India, after losing the World Test Champion final to New Zealand, will face hosts England. The series will be played for over a period of 40 days. India have already named their squad for the whole series while England have announced their squad for the first two Tests only. The series will be played in a soft bio bubble i.e. spectators will be allowed at the stadium.

India players in the United Kingdom have reunited after a 20-day break post WTC final. The team is currently in Durham prepping up for the series. India were forced to make changes to the original squad after Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Avesh Khan got ruled out due to injuries. Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav have been named as reported replacements, while for England, Ben Stokes has withdrawn from the series and probably Craig Overton will replace him in the squad.

India also played a three-day practice game against the County Select XI which ended in a draw. KL Rahul scored a century in the first innings while Ravindra Jadeja scored twin half-centuries in the match. In the bowling department, Umesh Yadav shone with three wickets in the match while Mohammad Siraj took two wickets. Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma were not part of the game.


India: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav

England: Joe Root (C), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jak Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Mark Wood, Craig Overton

Fixtures and venues

1st Test: August 4 - August 8, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

2nd Test: August 12 - August 16, Lord's, London

3rd Test: August 25 - August 29, Headingley, Leeds

4th Test: September 2 - September 6, Kennington Oval, London

5th Test: September 10 - September 14, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

When and where to watch India vs England in India?

All the matches will start at 3:30 PM IST. The matches will be broadcast live on Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN). You can watch matches live on Sony Six (English), Sony Ten 3 (Hindi), Sony Ten 4 (Tamil and Telugu).

Where can you live stream India vs England in India?

You can live stream all the matches on the SonyLiv app.

Where can you get score updates?

You can get all the updates related to the matches and live scores on the SportsTiger App. You can download it both for Android and iOS. You can also visit www.sportstiger.com for regular updates about the series.