Picture Credit: ECB

World Cup-winning England cricketer Anya Shrubsole announced retirement from international cricket on Thursday. Shrubsole had a 14-year illustrious career in which her most notable contribution was in 2017 helping England to lift the World Cup title. Later, she was one of the critical players in their 2022 edition.

In a statement released by ECB, Shrubsole was quoted saying, "I feel extremely privileged to represent my country for the past 14 years." She further informed me that it's getting tough for her to keep up the pace at the rate at which the game is progressing. Hence, she decided to hang her boots. "It has become clear that the game is moving fast, and I can't keep up with it, so it is time for me to step away," she quoted in an ECB statement. Adding further, she informed that her most memorable moment was lifting the World Cup title in 2017 at Lords. "There were many ups and downs along the way, but it was all worth it to lift the ICC Women's World Cup at Lord's in 2017," she added.

ECB Managing Director of Women's Cricket, Clare Connor, congratulated Shrubsole on a successful career and thanked her for being dedicated to her country in the sport for 14 years. "For 14 years, she has given everything to the team. In her last game for England – the ICC Women's World Cup final in Christchurch – Anya was the team's stand-out performer with the ball, just as she was on that magical day at Lord's in 2017 when England women lifted the World Cup," Connor said.

She represented her country in 173 games and scalped 227 wickets across all formats. Her best came against India in the 2017 World Cup final, where she claimed six wickets and conceded 46 runs. She is the fourth-highest wicket-taker for England in the ODI format and currently holds the top spot for having the most number of wickets to her name in the T20I format. The 30-year-old has two World Cup titles and two Ashes titles. She will not be seen in England's jersey but will continue to play domestic and franchise-based cricket like the Rachael Heyhoe Flint trophy, Charlotte Edwards Cup, and The Hundred.