European Super League: Nine clubs given financial sanctions by UEFA, other three face UCL ban

The Super League concept, which failed only days after its announcement, has been abandoned by the vast majority of teams.

Umang SinghAuthor

Updated - 08 May 2021 02:12 PM

European Super league

Nine of the 12 Super League teams have reaffirmed their allegiance to UEFA and abandoned plans to create a new competition. Still, they will face financial sanctions from the governing body of European football.

Barcelona, Real Madrid and Juventus are the three clubs that did not sign the declaration and the trio are set to face "appropriate action" under Uefa's disciplinary process. The punishment could be as harsh as being banned from the Champions League.

Following threats from football unions and fan demonstrations, the plan to create a new Super League fell apart only days after it was announced, with the majority of teams withdrawing.

What's been said so far?

Despite abandoning the scheme, Arsenal, AC Milan, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Inter, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham would forfeit 5% of the money they would have earned from UEFA for one season.

In a statement, UEFA stated, "Those nine clubs acknowledge and accept that the Super League project was a mistake and apologise to fans, national associations, national leagues, fellow European clubs and UEFA,"

"They have also recognised that the project would not have been authorised under UEFA Statutes and Regulations."

According to the European Football governing body, the clubs have "committed to and will participate in any UEFA Club Competitions each season for which that club qualifies on sporting merit" and will "terminate their involvement in the company established to form and operate the Super League and cease any existing related legal actions".

If the clubs participate in another unlicensed competition, such as the Super League, they will be fined €100 million (£87 million/$122 million). 

"UEFA has reserved all rights to take whatever action it deems appropriate against those clubs that have so far refused to renounce the so-called Super League. "The matter will promptly be referred to the competent UEFA disciplinary bodies", they added.


Join our Family Today!