F1’s 2022 calendar plans revealed: 23 races, three 'triple headers', shorter Monaco weekend

The 2022 F1 season looks all set to kick off in Bahrain on 20 March, which will be followed by a doubleheader in Suadi Arabia one week later.

Ritesh PathakAuthor

Updated - 18 September 2021 05:19 PM


The provisional calendar for the 2022 season of Formula 1 has been released and if the reports are to be believed, China and Australia are all set to make a comeback since the onset of the pandemic. Miami is also due to arrive on the calendar as F1 is planning to stage a 23-round season in 2022. F1’s first triple-header of the season will reportedly take place in July starting from Great Britain.

As per a report in RacingNews365.com, the 2022 F1 season looks all set to kick off in Bahrain, once again on 20 March which will be followed by a doubleheader in Suadi Arabia one week later. Australia and China will feature on 10 April and 24 April respectively as both countries look forward to hosting their first race since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. Miami fits in the calendar on May 8 followed by back-to-back races in Spain and Monaco on 22 May and 29 May respectively. Notably, Monaco will move to the Friday/Saturday/Sunday weekend. Canada (19 June) and Azarbaijan (12 June) have also been added despite a monstrous distance of 9,000 km between them.

First triple-header to kick-off in Great Britain

The triple-header kicks off in Great Britain on 3 July and then will move to Austria on 10 July, with these dates being subject to change. Either Paul Ricard or Imola will host the final leg on 17 July. After that, the caravan will move to Hungary (31 July) and Belgium (28 August) as both the hosts take up their usual spots on either side of the summer break. Just like 2021, Spa-Francorchamps will be followed by Netherlands (4 September) and Italy (11 September) as a part of a triple-header. Another triple-header will take place in Russia on 25 September followed by either Turkey or Singapore and then Japan on the first two weekends of October.

The final stage will take place in the United States (Austin) and Mexico in the last two weekends of October while Brazil (13 November) and Abu Dhabi (20 November) will bring the championship to a close. The final pre-season testing dates and venues are yet to be confirmed with the teams.

S. No.Grand PrixDate
1Bahrain20 March
2Saudi Arabia27 March
3Australia10 April
4China24 April
5United States (Miami)8 May
6Spain22 May
7Monaco29 May
8Azerbaijan12 June
9Canda19 June
10Great Britain*3 July
11Austria*10 July
12France/Italy (Imola)17 July
13Hungary31 July
14Belgium28 August
15Netherlands4 September
16Italy11 September
17Russia25 September
18Singapore/Turkey2 October
19Japan9 October
20United States (Austin)23 October
21Mexico30 October
22Brazil13 November
23Abu Dhabi20 November

*Race dates can be swapped


Join our Family Today!