Mumbai Indians all-rounder Hardik Pandya is not having a great IPL 2021 with the bat so far. He has registered modest scores of 13, 15, 7 and 0 in the tournament so far. However, the 27-year-old has been sensation on the field in all the four outings. In the previous contest against Sunrisers Hyderabad, Pandya produced two brilliant run-outs to completely change the course of the match. After getting dismissed on a duck on Tuesday, the MI all-rounder almost took one of the catches of the season.
Pandya’s brilliant effort in vain
In the first over of Delhi’s run-chase, Shikhar Dhawan got an outside edge off the bowling of Trent Boult and the ball looped up in the air. Hardik Pandya, who was standing in a catching position, produced a valiant forward diving effort and incredibly reached the ball. The 27-year-old took the catch which left everyone in awe of him.
Watch the incident here:
— Kart Sanaik (@KartikS25864857) April 20, 2021
However, the on-field umpires weren’t convinced as the decision was sent for a review to the third umpire. While Pandya looked sure that he took the catch cleanly, it looked a different story when the replays were shown. Hence, TV umpire ruled the decision in favour of Gabbar, which meant that Pandya’s outstanding effort went in vain. While some praised Pandya’s attempt, others expressed their disappointment as they thought that the MI all-rounder would have known that he didn’t take the catch cleanly.
Check out the tweets:
You are telling this bcoz that was Hardik who is favourite of many !! It’s like talking when bravo do it ! Not when jos!! So it’s all fair . Technology is there to use it correctly so it’s all fine
— vivekananda kundan (@VKundan) April 20, 2021
— Saksham (@Saksham0323) April 20, 2021
— Nikhil Pancholi (@Pancholinikhil7) April 20, 2021
Don't let this game distract you from the fact that HARDIK PANDYA CHEATED.
— 𝐃𝐞𝐯 ࿗ (@Kohlization) April 20, 2021
But I didn't Hardik Pandya's way of celebration!! Looked too aggressive
— Shivani Shukla (@iShivani_Shukla) April 20, 2021