Picture Credit: FIFA

In the latest news development, the Group Stage draw of the FIFA World Cup 2022 has been announced. The tournament is all set to be played from 21 November to 18 December in Qatar. The World Cup draw was held at Doha Exhibition and Convention Center, Qatar.

Here are the 8 groups, with 4 teams in each group.

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales / Scotland / Ukraine

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Peru / Australia / UAE, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica / New Zealand, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea

Each team will play against the other 3 teams in a round-robin format. Hence, each team will have three group-stage matches and 3 points will be awarded for a win, while one point awarded for a draw, and none for the draw. The top 2 teams from each group will advance into the next round (Round of 16) of the tournament, which will be the knock-out stage.

If the knock-out results in a tie, the winner will be decided by the difference of goals scored, followed by the total number of goals scored. The Round of 16 will be played from 3 December, while the semi-finals will start on 9 December and the tournament’s final is scheduled on 17 December.

Group of Death: The toughest group for the teams to advance to the next stage is said to be Group B, in the presence of teams like England, the United States of America, Iran, and the winners of the final UEFA play-off, according to the UEFA team Rankings. The UEFA playoff teams could be anyone between Wales, Scotland, or Ukraine. This group can produce exciting and intense matches in the World Cup.