Trending News

Former West Indies captain Denesh Ramdin announces retirement from international cricket

Ramdin has played 74 Tests, 139 ODIs and 71 T20Is, and scored four Test hundreds and 2 ODI hundreds.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 18 July 2022 6:14 pm

Denesh Ramdin

Former West Indies captain and wicketkeeper-batter, Denesh Ramdin, has decided to hang up his boots from international cricket. Ramdin ends his career after playing 74 Tests, 139 ODIs and 71 T20Is. He scored four Test hundreds and 2 ODI hundreds while scoring 5734 international runs. He also was the captain of the Windies team across formats before he was replaced by Jason Holder in 2015. However, Ramdin will continue playing franchise cricket.

He released a statement on his Instagram account addressing his retirement.  Ramdin wrote, “It is with great pleasure that I announce my retirement from international cricket. The past 14 years have been a dream come true. I fulfilled my childhood dreams by playing cricket for Trinidad and Tobago and the West Indies. My career afforded me the opportunity to see the world, make friends from different cultures and still be able to appreciate where I came from.”

“Even though I am announcing my retirement from international cricket, I am not retiring from professional cricket. I will still be playing franchise cricket around the world…” he added.

“I take this opportunity to thank everyone who made an impact on my 14-year career, particularly my family, my beautiful wife Janelle, and our kids for all the sacrifices you had to make for me to be away for long periods of time during my international career,” the 37-year-old wrote.

Ramdin recently confirmed that he will take part in the second season of Legends League Cricket. He joins stars like Harbhajan Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Yuvraj Singh etc. It is a 20-over cricket League, which features former international cricketers and is organized by Absolute Legends Sports Pvt.

Other players who have confirmed their participation in this tournament are:

Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Monty Panesar (England), Naman Ojha (India), Stuart Binny (India), Pravin Tambe (India), S Badrinath (India), Asghar Afghan (Afghanistan), Bret Lee (Australia), Liam Plunkett (England), Joginder Sharma (India), Albie Morkel (South Africa), Jonty Rhodes (South Africa), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Dilhara Fernando (Sri Lanka), Eoin Morgan (England), S Sreesanth (India), Misbah ul Haq (Pakistan), Kevin O Brien (Ireland). Brett Lee (Australia), Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan), Kevin Pietersen (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Kaif (India), Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan). 


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story