Trending News

“Going back to his days” – Twitterati reacts to Umpire Kumar Dharmasena’s attempted catch during SL vs AUS 3rd ODI

Sri Lanka won the third ODI by 6 wickets, going up 2-1 in the five-match series.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 20 June 2022 5:23 pm

Kumar Dharmasena

Things took a funny turn during the third One-day International between Australia and Sri Lanka as umpire Kumar Dharmasena was trying to get involved in the action. He was standing at square leg, and almost caught the ball after an Australian batter lofted it towards the position.

Eventually, he did let the ball take its natural path. Cricket Australia had a funny tweet reserved for the umpire. “Catch! Umpire Kumar Dharmasena looks like he wants to get into the action… Thankfully he didn’t.” Similarly, the fans on social media also had some funny reactions to Kumar Dharmasena‘s catch attempt and made the incident viral.

While talking about the game, the home team registered an incredible win as they chased down a total of 292 on the back of opener Pathum Nissanka’s 137 runs in 147 balls with 11 fours and two sixes. Australian batters Aaron Finch and Alex Carey also scored crucial runs but where overshadowed by the young Lankan star.

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story