Legends League Cricket


Although the Indian team suffered an unexpected series defeat against South Africa on Friday, and fans were left disappointed with the results, there are a lot of exciting tournaments coming up in order to cheer them up. One such T20 tournament which has already created a lot of excitement is Legends League Cricket, studded with legends like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan etc. The  T20 league will be played in Muscat, amongst three teams - Asia Lions, Indian Maharajas and World Giants - featuring various legends of the game.

As per latest development, former Bangladesh skipper Habibul Bashar, Sri Lanka’s spinner Ajantha Mendis & pace bowler Dilhara Fernando have joined Asia Lions Team for Legends League Cricket 2022. The team had earlier already roped in players like Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasurya, Shoaib Akhtar, etc to make themselves an extremely formidable unit.

I am looking forward to watching them play: Ravi Shastri

Speaking over the development, Ravi Shastri, commissioner of the tournament said, "Habibul Bashar, Ajantha Mendis & Dilhara Fernando’s contribution to their country is huge and I feel their contribution in the league will be vital. I am looking forward to watching them play the Howzat Legends League Cricket."

Even the CEO of  Legends League Cricket, Raman Raheja expressed his gratitude towards the trio for joining the league. According to Raheja, these players will bring a lot of vibrance and excitement in the league and they will surely keep the opponent on their toes. LLC's maiden season will have former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, among other cricket nations divided into three teams representing India, Asia and Rest of the World.

Asian Lions Squad: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Misbah ul Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan, Upul Tharanga, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Yousuf, Nuwan Kulasekara, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Azhar Mahmood, Habibul Bashar, Ajantha Mendis and Dilhara Fernando.

Recently Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar shocked his fans by denying his participation in the league via his management agency. Although, his name was included in the initial promo of the tournament, it was later rectified and Master Blaster's unavailability was made official.