India registered a fantastic win over England at Lord's in the second Test match of the five-match series in what will go down as one of the most memorable wins in their history. While they looked down and out with the match slipping away from their grip, a solid unbeaten partnership from Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah for the ninth wicket completely changed the momentum of the match.
Later, a superb pace bowling performance led by Mohammed Siraj helped Team India clinch a win by 151 runs after bowling the home team out for 120 in less than 60 overs which they needed to bat out to ensure a draw. However, the Three Lions did put up some fight towards the end. In fact, the resilient England lower-order batting was beginning to prove a headache for the Indians with the overs running out.
Robinson departed for the score of 9
But it was Jasprit Bumrah's slower ball that got out Ollie Robinson that quickly changed things before the last wickets fell for nothing. Bumrah sent Robbinson back for the score of 9 after having faced 35 balls. Until then, the right-handed batter was looking at his defensive best and had done well to bat out time along with Jos Buttler. But it took India's pace bowling spearheading to bowl a delivery, usually effective in white-ball cricket, to get the wicket of Robinson.
Lucky to get away with a rare error
However, it should be noted that the on-field umpire Richard Illingworth had not raised his finger and it was due to a DRS referral that Team India finally got their eighth wicket. The only doubt was whether the ball was pitching in line with the stumps since the ball pitching outside leg would automatically make it not out. As reviews confirmed the ball had indeed pitched in line, Robinson took the long walk back and the game resumed.
But a rare gaffe had taken place during the HawkEye ball-tracking replay for Robinson's dismissal which had then gone unnoticed. Even as the delivery from Jasprit Bumrah had actually pitched straight in line with the middle-stump before hitting Robinson’s pad, the HawkEye showed the ball to be landing inches inside the leg-stump line.
It could have made for a huge difference in the game, had the replays stayed with the on-field decision of not out.