How has India vs Sri Lanka bilateral series panned out over the years?

The series will now commence from July 18 with three ODIs, followed by likewise T20Is.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 14 July 2021 1:06 pm

India vs Sri Lanka ODI series will start on 18th off July after COVID-19 scare. In past bilateral ODI series, India has been very dominant over the years against Sri Lanka. In this series also India is an overwhelming favorites to win the ODI series despite sending a 2nd string attack. The team under Shikhar Dhawan will be playing 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is in Colombo. Let us look at how these two teams have fared in the past in bilateral ODI series.

Last 10 bilateral ODI series (min 3 matches) between these two teams:

Ind win 2-1 in 2017
Ind win 5-0 in 2017
Ind win 5-0 in 2014
Ind win 4-1 in 2012
Ind win 3-1 in 2009
Ind win 4-1 in 2009
Ind win 3-2 in 2008
Ind win 2-1 in 2007
Ind win 6-1 in 2005
SL win 3-0 in 1997

It can be seen that in the last 10 bilateral ODI series Sri Lanka has managed to win just 1 ODI series.

T20I bilataeral series results between India and Sri Lanka:

Ind win 2-0 in 2020
Ind win 3-0 in 2017
Ind win 1-0 in 2017
Ind win 2-1 in 2016
Ind win 1-0 in 2012
Series drawn 1-1 in 2009
Ind win 1-0 in 2009

It can be noted that Sri Lanka has never won a T20I bilateral series against India.

Some of the notable records from India vs Sri Lanka ODI bilateral series:

* MS Dhoni's 183* remains to be highest score for a wicket-keeper in ODI cricket till now.

* Virat Kohli made his international debut in 2008 ODI series. Later, in 2009 Ravindra Jadeja also made his debut against Sri Lanka only.

* Rohit Sharma's 264 is the highest score ever in ODI. Also, later in 2017 he smashed another double century as captain and also recorded joint-fastest century in the T20I series.

* Virat Kohli has smashed 8 centuries against Sri Lanka in ODIs, which joint-most with Sachin Tendulkar.

Among current squad

Most runs vs Sri Lanka in ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (983 runs)
Most wickets vs Sri Lanka in ODIs: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (17 wickets)

Most runs vs Sri Lanka in T20Is: Shikhar Dhawan (289 runs)
Most wickets vs Sri Lanka in T20Is: Yuzvendra Chahal (14 wickets)