Trending News

I was never told that I should not leave T20I captaincy: Virat Kohli contradicts BCCI President Sourav Ganguly’s statement

Virat refuted contrary claims from the BCCI that they had communicated clearly to him prior to making the captaincy switch.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 15 December 2021 3:21 pm

Prior to India’s tour of South Africa, Test captain Virat Kohli addressed a press conference before the team is to leave the Indian shores. In a sensational turn of events, contrary to what the BCCI has been claiming that there had been prior communication before removing Kohli as the ODI captain, Kohli said that he was not at all told until before the selection meeting.

Refuting claims by the Board that they had asked him to continue as T20 skipper and once he denied, it was the only rationale that there should be one white-ball captain, Kohli said that he was in fact never asked by the BCCI to not resign from captaincy.

“When I had decided to leave T20I captaincy and it was received well and there was no offence. But, I was never told that I should ‘not leave T20I cricket captaincy.’ My communication was always clear,” he said at the virtual press conference.

However, he backed Rohit as a leader and termed the Hitman a very able captain.

Meanwhile, the hosts have already been handed a bit of a setback when Rohit, who was named the vice-captain for the Test matches, was ruled out of the entire red-ball leg due to an injury. It is Priyank Panchal, a veteran of 100 first-class matches, who has been roped in the Indian team in his absence.

On the other hand, even South Africa’s Quinton de Kock is confirmed to miss at least one of the three Tests as he is expecting the birth of his first child in January. He may even have to miss two Test matches owing to the strict quarantine guidelines if he leaves the bubble in the middle of the series.

India’s Test squad for three-match Test series against South Africa: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj

The ODI squad for the Indian team is yet to be announced.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story