ICC announces groups for T20 World Cup 2021; India in Group 2 with Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan

Although BCCI have retained the hosting rights, the tournament will take place in Oman and UAE.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 11 August 2021 03:50 PM

ICC announces groups for T20 World Cup 2021

The T20 World Cup 2021 is going to be etched in the history books for several reasons. Given that it is taking place in tough times, the event becomes furthermore important. While coronavirus has made sure that the sporting events across the globe remain affected, the BCCI and ICC, on the other hand, are trying their level best to conduct the mega event. It is worth noting that to conduct the T20 World Cup successfully, the apex cricket governing body of India has already shifted the marquee event to the UAE.

In the latest update related to the showpiece event, ICC has announced the groups for the competition which is slated to kick off on October 17. The cricket governing body has announced the groups for both Round 1 (qualifying) and Super 12 (group stages). While 8 teams - India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Afghanistan - have already qualified, 4 top teams from the qualifying round will join them in Super 12.

Check out the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 groups:


India and Pakistan placed in same group

ICC also confirmed that the groups have been decided on the basis of team rankings as of March 20, 2021. Interesting, the fans would be extremely delighted to see some key match-ups in the Super 12 stage itself. While arch-rivals England and Australia are placed in Group 1, Asian giants India and Pakistan are placed together in Group 2.

While announcing the groups, ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice added that they waited for the last moment to make the announcement as they wanted to ensure that can take into account the latest possible rankings in determining the groups.

T20 World Cup 2021 to be hosted by Oman and UAE

With the pandemic situation in India not suitable to conduct the tournament, the event will now take place in UAE and Oman. Reflecting on the same, Asian Cricket Council President Jay Shah revealed that his vision is to take cricket far and deep into Asia and Oman co-hosting the 2021 World Cup will put them on the global stage. BCCI President Sourav Ganguly also claimed that it is going to be a world-class event in this part of the world.

Although BCCI have retained the hosting rights, the tournament will be conducted in UAE and Oman at the following venues: Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium, and Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

Watch the video here:


Join our Family Today!