Trending News

ICC explains qualification pathway for 2024 Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup

The 12 teams coming through automatic qualification will be decided after the 2022 Men's T20 World Cup.

Ritesh Pathak Author

Updated - 11 April 2022 9:05 pm

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the qualification pathway for its marquee events slated to take place in 2024. The global cricket governing body revealed how 20 teams will be decided for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It explained that 12 teams will be decided on the basis of automatic qualification while eight teams will come through the global qualifiers.

The 12 teams coming through automatic qualification will be decided after the 2022 Men’s T20 World Cup. The top eight teams from the 2022 T20WC in Australia alongside hosts West Indies and the USA will be selected automatically. Apart from that the next highest-ranked teams on the MRF ICC Men’s T20 rankings table as of 14 November 2022 will qualify for the 2024 event.

Also, if West Indies finish in the top eight at the 2022 T20WC, three teams will progress based on rankings and if they don’t only two teams will qualify from the rankings table. The occupants of the remaining eight spots will be decided through a regional qualification process. Africa, Asia, and Europe each will have two spots open, and Americas and EAP will have one each.

Eight teams qualify through automatic qualification for Women’s event

For the women’s T20 World Cup in 2024, eight countries will book a spot at the marquee event automatically, including the top three teams from each group of the 2023 event plus the host (if not in the six) and the next highest-ranked team(s) on the MRF ICC Women’s T20 rankings table at a pre-determined date. The remaining two teams will be determined through the Women’s T20 World Cup global qualifier.

Meanwhile, ICC also announced the hosts for the inaugural edition of ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 which will be held in January next year. South Africa which were also the inaugural host of the Men’s T20 World Cup back in 2007 will host the 16-team, 41-match event.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60