India announce 20-member squad for Sri Lanka tour; Devdutt Padikkal & 5 others get maiden call-up

India will play 3 T20Is and as many ODIs on this tour.

Saurabh Ganguly Author

Updated - 15 July 2021 4:12 pm

In a big update coming in with regards to the Indian cricketing circuit, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 20-member squad for the limited-overs tour in Sri Lanka. While most of the all-format players will already be in England for the Test series, this is a squad full of white-ball specialists and Shikhar Dhawan has been handed over the responsibility to lead the side.

Meanwhile, plenty of youngsters including Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana and Krishnappa Gowtham have received maiden India call-up for the tour which will see the side playing 3 ODIs and as many T20Is.

5 players selected as net bowlers

Meanwhile, an official BCCI release has confirmed that as many as five bowlers have been selected as net bowlers for the tour. These are Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh. It is also being learned that all the matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

Check out the squad and schedule:

Schedule for ODI series

13 July- 1st ODI at Colombo

16 July- 2nd ODI at Colombo

18 July- 3rd ODI at Colombo

Schedule for T20I series

21 July- 1st T20I- Colombo

23 July- 2nd T20I- Colombo

25 July- 3rd T20I- Colombo

India’s squad for Sri Lanka tour: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Watch the video here: