Trending News

India to travel New Zealand for limited-overs series after 2022 T20 World Cup, schedule announced

The Men in Blue will play three T20Is and three ODIs.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 28 June 2022 12:42 pm


New Zealand Cricket has announced a power-packed home summer for this year as they will host India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and England. The announcement was made on Tuesday (June 28). Similarly, the New Zealand women’s team are also set to host Bangladesh before travelling to South Africa for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Kiwis will play England in a Day-Night Test in the first game of their series at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui which will be played from 16 February 2023. This will be the first Day-Night between New Zealand and England since 2018.

The home season is set to start in October when New Zealand will face Pakistan and Bangladesh in a tri-series as their last preparatory tour before the T20 World Cup in Australia. The Indian team will travel after the ICC T20 World Cup for a three-match T20I and ODI series. The series will start on November 18.

New Zealand will then return to India for a white-ball series in January next year. the Blackcaps will visit the UK to face England for two Tests. After that series, New Zealand will host Sri Lanka for a long tour of 2 Tests, 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs.

NZC released a statement about the facing India in their home tour that said, “India will arrive in New Zealand at the conclusion of the World Cup to play the BLACKCAPS in three T20s at Wellington, Tauranga and Napier, and three ODIs at Auckland, Hamilton and Christchurch.” 

“The BLACKCAPS will then depart for the sub-continent for a tour of Pakistan and a short-form series in India, before returning in early February to prepare for the two Tests against England – at Tauranga (D/N) and Wellington.”

India’s tour of New Zealand schedule

Friday, November 18, 7.30 pm: 1st T20; Sky Stadium, Wellington

Sunday, November 20, 7.30 pm: 2nd T20; Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Tuesday, November 22, 7.30 pm: 3rd T20; McLean Park, Napier

Friday, November 25, 2.30 pm: 1st ODI; Eden Park, Auckland

Sunday, November 27, 2.30 pm: 2nd ODI; Seddon Park, Hamilton

Wednesday, November 30, 2.30 pm: 3rd ODI; Hagley Oval, Christchurch


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story