Match Details

Date: January 03-07, 2022

Time: 1:30 PM IST (every match day)

Venue: Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Live Ball-by-ball Commentary: SportsTiger App


After India's historic win in the opening Test match of the three-match series between India and South Africa at Centurion, the second Test match of the series will commence at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on January 3. While the Men in Blue would want to win the match and clinch the series, ending their drought and rightfully earning the world-beaters tag with them finally having a Test series win to their credit in the rainbow country, it will be a test of character and nerves for South Africa who would be eager to make a comeback in the series and force fate of the into a decider.

Weather Report: (January 3, 2022)

Pitch Report:


Key Players:


With Quinton de Kock not available for selection, the choice has been made simpler for the wicketkeeper's slot in the Fantasy team and it has to be India's, Rishabh Pant. Not only is he a guaranteed selection at this point, but he has also shown time and again his ability with the bat and has only improved as a stumper. The Player of the Match of the opening Test match KL Rahul could not only walk into the Fantasy team for the second Test but could even be considered for either of the captain or vice-captain options along with his opening partner Mayank Agarwal. Virat Kohli, on current form, seems to be a high-risk option with him clearly struggling with the ball outside his off-stump. Dean Elgar and Temba Bavuma are the preferred batting options from South Africa. Ravichandran Ashwin, Wiaan Mulder and George Linde are the all-round options but it is difficult to look beyond Ashwin if there is just one slot in the Fantasy XI. It is all about fast bowlers in the bowlers' section and one has five options in Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammad Siraj to choose from.

Team 1

Team 2

Probable Playing XIs:

South Africa: Dean Elgar (c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Keshav Maharaj

India: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah

People's pick:

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Rishabh Pant

Batters: Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram

All-rounders: Ravichandran Ashwin, Wiaan Mulder, George Linde

Bowlers: Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj

Disclaimer: The fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are personal opinion of the author. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.