Indian cricket team assembles in Mumbai ahead of Sri Lanka tour; pictures surface

Rahul Dravid will coach the Men in Blue during the series against Sri Lanka.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 25 June 2021 02:29 PM

Team India

A new-look Indian Team have assembled in Mumbai on Tuesday ahead of the highly-anticipated tour of Sri Lanka. With Virat Kohli and Co. currently in England for the WTC Final and subsequent Test series with the hosts, BCCI had announced a young and exciting squad for the 3-match T20I and 3 match ODI series scheduled to be played from July 13 to July 25.

Good to see some new and happy faces in the squad: BCCI

With the team scheduled to leave for Sri Lanka in a few days time, BCCI confirmed that all the 25 players (20 squad members and 5 net bowlers) have reached Mumbai where they will serve a mandatory quarantine period as per current COVID-19 travel protocols. However, the same was revealed in some style by the board as they posted selfies of all the players who looked exhilarated ahead of the tour.

While captain Shikhar Dhawan and his deputy Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave a thumbs-up, the Pandya brothers copied each other's selfie pose while clicking the picture. All the other players also looked quite pumped up after they received a much-needed break post-IPL 2021 suspension. BCCI shared all the pictures with a caption, "Good to see some new and happy faces in the squad."

Check out the pictures here:

India's squad for Sri Lanka Tour

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has also announced that Rahul Dravid will be the coach of Men in Blue in the tour of Sri Lanka. The 20-member squad for ODI and T20I series is as follows:

Indian Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh


Join our Family Today!