Indian T20 League Match 33: Delhi vs Hyderabad Preview – Team News, Probable XI and More

Hyderabad desperately need to get some wins under their belt to qualify for the playoffs while second-placed Delhi will look to continue their good start.

Abhinav GoelAuthor

Updated - 21 September 2021 07:25 PM


Match Details

Date: September 22, 2021

Time: 7:30 PM (IST)

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Live Ball-by-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App


Delhi resume their campaign against Hyderabad in Indian T20 League 2021 on Wednesday as the sides lock horns at the Dubai International Stadium. Both the teams have had contrasting first half of the season and are placed at the opposite ends in the points table. Bottom-dwellers Hyderabad desperately need to get some wins under their belt to qualify for the playoffs while second-placed Delhi will look to continue their good start.

The two teams have already met once this season in April and at that time it was the Rishabh Pant-led side that emerged victorious in the super over. Delhi had scored 159/4 thanks to superb batting from Prithvi Shaw (53 off 39) and Rishabh Pant (37 off 27). After a good start, Hyderabad collapsed dramatically in their chase and managed to somehow draw the game. Axar Patel then bowled superbly in the super over and restricted Hyderabad to just seven runs. Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant then did the job for Delhi.

Position in the Indian T20 League standings:

Delhi: Current Position: 2nd (12 points in 8 matches)

Hyderabad: Current Position: 8th (2 points in 7 matches)

Team News

Delhi Full Squad:

IN: Kulwant Khejroliya, Ben Dwarshuis | OUT: M Siddharth, Chris Woakes

Rishabh Pant (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimron Hetmyar, Shreyas Iyer, Steve Smith, Amit Mishra, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan, Ben Dwarshuis, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Kulwant Khejroliya, Lukman Meriwala, Pravin Dubey, Tom Curran, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Sam Billings and Vishnu Vinod.

Hyderabad Full Squad:

IN: Sherfane Rutherford | OUT: Jonny Bairstow

Kane Williamson (Captain), David Warner, Manish Pandey, Sherfane Rutherford, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abdul Samad, J Suchith, Jason Holder, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Jason Roy.

Head to Head (in Indian T20 League)

Matches Played – 19

Delhi – 8

Hyderabad – 11

Key Players

David Warner:

Warner was replaced as captain in the 14th edition of the Indian T20 League by Kane Williamson after the Hyderabad skipper struggled to inspire his team. The Aussie opener himself struggled to get going and had a below-par strike rate of 110.28 in first half of the tournament, his worst in the history of the league. If Hyderabad are to turn their season around, the franchise will need its talisman Warner to step up his game.

Jason Holder:

The West Indies all-rounder has been a consistent performer at the international level over recent years. However, he struggled in the team’s most recent series against Pakistan, scoring just 2 runs and taking 4wickets in four matches. As a result, Holder was left out from the 15 member squad announced by the West Indies board for T20 WC. The talented all-rounder is a key player for the Hyderabad franchise and he will be eager to prove the Windies selectors wrong with a good showing here.

Shikhar Dhawan:

The top-scorer of the current season of Indian T20 League was surprisingly left out of India’s T20 World Cup squad. Dhawan will resume his campaign as the Orange Cap holder, with 380 runs at an average of 54.28 and at a strike rate of 134.27. The southpaw had a stunning start to the season and the best way to respond to his World Cup omission will be to continue in the same vein now.

Probable Playing XI

Delhi: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steve Smith, Rishabh Pant (wk) (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Ishant Sharma

Hyderabad: David Warner, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Jason Holder, Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Siddharth Kaul, T Natrajan


Join our Family Today!